By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Season Wraps Up For El Portal Bowling League
winners EP
Shown, winners of the first and second half competition for the El Portal Bowling League: Tracy Marshall, Anjel Frear, (absent Linda Romano-DaDalt), Robin Aufdermaur, Stacy Lub, and Kelly Homen. Photo Contributed

The El Portal bowling league is a non-profit league which donates to El Portal Middle School’s science camp fund. New bowlers are always being sought and this year’s competition has officially wrapped up. You may call McHenry Bowl to sign up for next season.

The officers for next year are MarySue Young (president), RoseAnn Dugo (vice president) and Mary Panero (secretary/treasurer).

Awards were given out at the end of the season to the COVID year co-winners, Team Foxy Ladies featuring Marie Awalt, Gaynl Allec, and posthumously Erlene Price, who was also the sponsor; and Team Vel De Rose with Velma Vasconcellos, Delores Borba, and RoseAnn Dugo.

This year the first half was won by M & R, Linda Romano-DaDalt, Trace Marshall and Anjel Frear, who beat the second half of the season winners the Fabulous Flamingos, Robin Aufdermaur, Stacy Lub, and Kelly Homen.

Individual awards were given to Tracy Marshall (high scratch series 650 and individual high average 169.77), Kelly Homen (high scratch game 201), Louise Spurgeon (high handicap series 682) and Marie Awalt (high handicap game 262). Sandy Cox won for most improved.

Next season will begin on Sept. 8 with registration and bowling.