By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Hodgson Driving For Top Rookie Honors
It has been a busy summer for Escalon's Cody Hodgson, still in the thick of things with the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East.

He finished 16th in the New England 125 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway on Friday, July 15 and followed that up with another top 10 showing, taking ninth overall, at the Columbus Motor Speedway JEGS 150 in Columbus, Ohio on Saturday, July 23.

In the New Hampshire race, Hodgson struggled with a bad set of tires in qualifying, putting him in the 34th starting position. After making some adjustments and getting a new set of tires, he began pushing forward into the Top-20 to bring the Dave Davis Motorsports No. 03 Ocala Gran Prix Dodge home 16th place in his first career race on an oval measuring a mile or more in length. The rally over the final half of the race helped Hodgson jump two spots in the K&N Pro Series East standings to ninth.

He went on to race at the .333 mile oval at Columbus and was one of two rookies on the circuit to finish in the top 10 in that event.

While Hodgson continues on the circuit, local fans can also now cast their vote for him in the battle for top driver honors.

For the fourth consecutive year, fans can vote online for the Most Popular Driver of the Year Award in the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East. The link to the 2011 NASCAR K&N Pro Series East Most Popular Driver ballot will be hosted on

Fans may vote once per day and are encouraged to vote throughout the season. Voting continues through Nov. 20. Last year, Ryan Truex was voted by the fans as the Most Popular Driver in the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East.

Voting for all regional touring series will be available on, and voting for the NASCAR Nationwide Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series can be accessed by visiting Results will be announced at the NASCAR Night of Champions Touring Awards Gala on Saturday, Dec. 10 at the Charlotte Convention Center's Crown Ballroom in the NASCAR Hall of Fame.