By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Escalons Lial Selected For Classified Recognition
John Lial

Working in the Transportation Department for the Escalon Unified School District, John Lial has been selected as one of the top Classified Employees of the Year by the San Joaquin County Office of Education. The Teacher of the Year recipient will be revealed at dinner hosted by SJCOE and Premier Community Credit Union next month.

Winners of the San Joaquin County Teacher of the Year and Classified Employee of the Year are county nominees for California Department of Education recognition programs.

Lial was among six Classified Employee of the Year selected, all representing different areas; he was honored in the Transportation category.

“John is a fantastic member of the Escalon Unified team,” said Escalon Unified School District Superintendent Ron Costa. “He works hard to support the schools ensuring that transportation needs are met. He is always one of the first to assist others and he makes Escalon students his top priority. The Escalon community is fortunate to have John Lial as part of the Escalon Unified team.”

In addition to Lial, the San Joaquin County Classified Employees of the Year included Sabu Abraham, Jefferson School, Jefferson School District – Child Nutrition; Jim Jacobs, Neil Hafley Elementary School, Manteca Unified School District – Maintenance, Operations and Facilities; Amy Kennedy, Educational Services, San Joaquin County Office of Education – Office and Technical; Irene English, Banta Elementary School, Banta Elementary School District – Para-Educator and Instructional Assistance; and Ariana Rodriguez-Ruvira, Clyde W. Needham Elementary School, Lodi Unified School District – Support Services and Security.

San Joaquin County Teacher of the Year Finalists are Heather Dyk, Linden High School, Linden Unified School District; Peter Gallegos, Harrison Elementary School, Stockton Unified School District; Andrea Jennings, Jefferson School, Jefferson School District; Amy Lundeberg, Ronald E. McNair High School, Lodi Unified School District; Megan Manrique, one.Frontier Main, San Joaquin County Office of Education; and Graciela Matty, Primary Years Academy, Stockton Unified School District.

All finalists and winners will be honored on June 8 at the Seventh Annual San Joaquin County Classified Employee and Teacher of the Year Awards Celebration Dinner. Honorees will be recognized for their outstanding commitment and dedication to education and to San Joaquin County students. The Teacher of the Year will be announced at the dinner, sponsored by Premier Community Credit Union. Proceeds from the event will go toward student events such as the Academic Decathlon, Spelling Bee, Science Olympiad, Mock Trial, and more.

Dinner will be June 8, Thursday, at 6 p.m. at the San Joaquin County Office of Education, Wentworth Education Center, Burwood Auditorium, 2707 Transworld Drive, Stockton.

Tickets are $35 per person; email or call (209) 468-4881.

This event is co-sponsored by Premier Community Credit Union and the SJCOE.