By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
ATHENA Awards Nomination Deadline This Friday
athena awards

The nomination deadline for this year’s prestigious ATHENA Award and ATHENA Young Professional Leadership Award is this Friday, Aug. 25 at 3 p.m. The awards will be presented at the ATHENA Awards Luncheon on Nov. 16 at the Stockton Golf and Country Club.

The annual ATHENA Awards honors individuals who strive toward the highest levels of accomplishment, excel in their chosen business or profession, have demonstrated support for the advancement of business and professional women, have devoted time and energy to their community, and have actively mentored others.

Nominations must be submitted by 3 p.m. on Aug. 25. Nomination forms can be obtained by visiting For more information contact the Greater Stockton Chamber of Commerce at (209) 547-2770.

The ATHENA Young Professional Leadership Award is dedicated to recognizing the next generation of women leaders in San Joaquin County. The award will honor an individual who has demonstrated excellence, creativity, and initiative in their business or profession; provides valuable service to improve the quality of life for others in her community; and clearly serves as a role model for young women personally and professionally. This individual will be not less than 18 and not more than 40 years of age on Oct. 1, 2017.

The Greater Stockton Chamber of Commerce is home to one of the longest running ATHENA programs in the nation, now in its 31st year. The ATHENA Young Professional Leadership Award was introduced nationally and locally in November 2009.

Past ATHENA Award winners are Mary Bava, Dea Berberian, Judith Buethe, Jane Butterfield, Consuelo “Connie” Callahan, Susan Carson, Judith Chambers, Dr. Pamela Eibeck, Bobbie Fasano, Sara Garfield, Joelle Gomez, Phyllis Grupe, Charlynn Harless, Iva Harris, Dr. Kathy Hart, Hedy Holmes, Dr. Hazel Hill, Marian Jacobs, Kathleen Janssen, Ann Johnston, Susan Lenz, Janice L. Marengo, Jeanette Michaels, Karen Munro, Carol J. Ornelas, Connemara Reisinger, Kathryn Rousek, Cyril Seligman, Kristen Spracher-Birtwhistle, and Jeanne Zolezzi. The Young Professional Leadership Award has been presented to Brenna Butler-Garcia, Erin Guy Castillo, Nikki Lowery, Shelby Riley, Angela Rosenquist, Monica Streeter and Jennifer Torres Siders.