By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Alves Named Mayor, Councilmen Seated
Placeholder Image
There wasn't an election for Escalon City Council this year, as incumbents Jeff Laugero and Gary Haskin were both unopposed in their election bids.

That allowed the city to cancel the election for the council seats, saving some money, and appoint the two council members, who were officially sworn in at the Monday, Dec. 3 council meeting. Laugero begins his second four-year term on the panel, Haskin is a multi-term council member.

Each will serve a new four-year term, running through 2016.

In action at the meeting on Monday, councilman Ed Alves was chosen by his fellow council members to serve as mayor, with Haskin named as mayor pro tem. Danny Fox, outgoing mayor, returns to a council seat on the dais.

The council, in closed session prior to the regular meeting, conducted a performance evaluation for the deputy city manager position, currently held by John Abrew. There was no reportable action out of the closed session.

It was a fairly light agenda for the council as well, though they did approve a resolution placing a lien of more than $18,000 on the now-defunct Escalon Motel at 1328 Escalon Ave., to cover abatement costs and staff time for shutting down and boarding up the facility.

Also, the council agreed to cancel its second December meeting, which would have come on Dec. 17, and the first meeting in January, 2013 (Jan. 7). The next regularly scheduled council meeting will be on Tuesday, Jan. 22 - the day after the Martin Luther King Jr. holiday observance.

City Hall does have some holiday closures for this month, with city offices closed on Monday, Dec. 24 for Christmas Eve and on Tuesday, Dec. 25 for the Christmas Day observance. The office will be open for regular business hours on Monday, Dec. 31 - New Year's Eve - from 8 a.m. to noon and 1 p.m. to 5 p.m., but will be closed on Tuesday, Jan. 1, 2013 and reopening on Wednesday, Jan. 2.

Meanwhile, the newly elected Escalon School Board members, Amy Bavaro and Martha Coelho, will take their oaths of office at the Tuesday, Dec. 11 school board meeting at 7 p.m. at Dent Elementary School. The board will welcome the newcomers while saying goodbye to longtime members Diane Alcorn and Janai Stanton as part of the same session.