By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
School Board Race Tops Tuesday Ballot
Placeholder Image
Five candidates are vying for two available posts on the Escalon Unified School District Board in the Tuesday, Nov. 6 election.

Three candidates are in the running for the seat in Area 3, two in Area 4.

Incumbent Diane Gillispie Alcorn in Area 3 is being challenged by bookkeeper and school volunteer Amy Bavaro and produce sales/farmer Mark George. In Area 4, incumbent Janai Stanton faces off against challenger Martha Coelho, a day care provider. The top vote getter in each Area will win the seats.

Also, voters in the district will cast ballots on Measure B, a school modernization bond.

Information on the ballot describes Measure B as a measure to "acquire, construct and modernize classrooms and support facilities at school sites, including upgrading vocational facilities to better prepare students for the workforce, increasing access to modern classroom technology, and reducing annual lease payments and operating costs to put more money in the classroom."

A 'yes' vote would authorize the district issue up to $19,500,000 in bonds at legal interest rates, with annual audits and an independent Citizens' Oversight Committee.

The Escalon City Council, with two seats coming up for election, had no challengers to incumbents Jeff Laugero and Gary Haskin, and so will not have that race on the ballot.

The Nov. 6 election is expected to see a larger voter turnout than 'off year' elections, however, since it does include the Presidential race and many state races as well. Locally, voters will also cast ballots in the U.S. Senate race pitting incumbent Democrat Diane Feinstein against republican challenger Elizabeth Emken.

In the District 10 Congressional race, Republican incumbent Jeff Denham is challenged by Democrat Jose Hernandez and Republican Bill Berryhill is going against incumbent Democrat Cathleen Galgiani in the District 5 state Senate race.

Polls open at 7 a.m. and remain open until 8 p.m. on Nov. 6.