By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Musical Cougars Tapped For Honors Performances

Several Escalon High School students have been selected to perform in the San Joaquin County High School Honors Concert, set for this coming Saturday, Jan. 14.

The event will consist of performances by High School Honors Concert choir, band, and string orchestra. Students had to go through a rigorous audition process in hopes of being selected.

Chosen to perform with the Honor Choir were Mary Adams and Kristen Gutierrez, while Caitlin Pehl was chosen for the Honor String Orchestra, playing bass.

Cassidy Pehl, bass clarinet; and Mackenzie Schrotenboer and Grace Resendes, both flute players, were named to the Honor Band.

This year the San Joaquin County Office of Education High School Honors Concert consists of 282 students, including 111 in choir, 101 in band, and 70 in orchestra from 22 schools in 10 different districts within San Joaquin County. Over 400 students auditioned in the fall.

Music selections for the sets are chosen by the guest conductors. Guest Conductors include: Band, Dr. Ed Harris, Director of the School of Music and Dance and Director of Bands at San Jose State University; Choir, Dr. Christopher Peterson, Professor of Music at California State University Fullerton; Orchestra, Shane Kalbach, Director of the Central Valley Youth Symphony

The San Joaquin County Office of Education (SJCOE), in partnership with the San Joaquin County Music Educators’ Association and San Joaquin Delta College Music Department sponsor the annual event. The concert is free and open to the public.

The concert is scheduled on Saturday, Jan. 14 at 7 p.m. at San Joaquin Delta College, Atherton Auditorium, 5151 Pacific Ave., Stockton.

The Nelson Zane Four-Year Award will be given to students who have been accepted to the SJCOE High School Honors Concert for all four years of eligibility. This year a total of 17 students will receive the award. Nelson-Zane Four Year Award recipients are eligible for a $500 scholarship. The winner of the scholarship will be announced during intermission.